Union County Voters Go to Polls Tuesday

Union County voters will head to the polls Tuesday, May 22, to cast ballots in what are expected to be highly contested races. Both Democrats and Republicans will have ballots to cast in a number of local races.

In the Republican primary, both David Hart and Adam R. O’Nan are seeking their party’s nomination for county judge/executive while three individuals are seeking the Republican nomination for county clerk: Jim Lyon, Curt Clements and Garrick Thompson.  The winner will face present clerk Trey Peak in November.

In District three (Raleigh, Sturgis, Grangertown and Dekoven), Jim Ricketts, Sarah Brockman and Noble Cobb’s names appear on the ballot for the magistrate’s seat.  The winner of that primary race will face the winner of the Democratic primary in the November general election.

Democrats will also have a number of candidates to choose from when they go to the polls Tuesday.

In the circuit clerk’s race, Jo Sheridan is challengeing incumbent Trish Tackett.

Five Democrats seek their party’s nomination for county judge/executive: Tom K. Stevenson, Michael Hardesty, Jeremy Curtis, Bill Holbrook and J.D. Kramer.  The winner advances to the November general election.

All five magisterial district races are contested with Rick Wyatt facing incumbent Gary Day in the first district.  The winner of that race will face Republican Mike Floyd in November.

In the second magisterial district, Mike Clark and Linda Clark are challenging incumbent Jerri Floyd for the Democratic nomination.  In November, the winner will face Republican challenger Steven Gough.

Stephanie Draper Hooper and Jerry A. Dempsey seek to unseat incumbent Chuck Voss for the Democratic nomination for magistrate in District 3. The winner of the primary will face one of three candidates on the Republican ticket in November.

In District 4, incumbent Joe Wells is seeking another term in office; he is opposed in the Democratic primary by Wayne Bickett and Gary Wright.

The most highly contested magisterial race is in District 5 where Eddie Sheffer, Dana Joyce Bishop, Jonathan Hagan and Donnie W. Greenwell hope to unseat Joe Clements.  Voters in Hitesville, Waverly, Circle and Meadows will determine the winner of that seat.

Voters will also cast ballots in the United States Representative congressional race for the first congressional district.  Paul Walker and Alonzo Pennington are seeking the Democratic nomination in that race.

Polls open at 6:00 a.m. Tuesday and will close at 6:00 p.m.  The Sturgis News will post election results at www.cpcnewspapers.comjust as soon as they are available.


Leave a Comment